Chair in Australian Studies at Harvard

The Gough Whitlam and Malcolm Fraser Chair in Australia Studies was endowed with $1 million by the Commonwealth Government of Australia as a gift to the people of the United States of America at the time of their Bicentennial in 1976. The chair was established to “maintain such teaching, research and publication as will help promote awareness and understanding of Australia in the USA”. The Australian prime ministers after whom the scholarship is now named, honoured Harvard University with the funding for this academic posting.

Scholarship Value
The chair provides funding for one or more appointments of Australian academics for an academic year (August to May) teaching and researching while resident at Harvard University.

The Australian Nominating Committee encourages applications from outstanding Australians in mid-career as well as those further advanced. It also strongly encourages applications from women and under-represented groups. The Committee reserves the right to invite particular persons to accept nomination.

Funding Source
The chair is funded from the endowment established at the time it was established. Prudent investment has grown available funds to support up to two appointments along with funding for conferences, exhibitions, cultural and artistic events, and visits by Harvard students to Australia.

Selection Process
An Australian nominating committee accepts applications and shortlists candidates for final review and appointment by the Harvard Committee on Australian Studies. This Harvard committee is presented chaired by David Haig, an Australian who is a professor of Biology in the faculty of arts and sciences at Harvard.

More Information and latest news may be found at the website of the Chair in Australian Studies

Honour Roll of past winners