MEDIA RELEASE

Three of Australia's most promising public service leaders win Wolfensohn scholarships to Harvard

The Harvard Club of Australia (HCA) is delighted to announce the winners of the Sir James Wolfensohn Public Service Scholarships for 2024 to attend executive education at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government:

- Kate Boyd PSM, Secretary, The Cabinet Office, NSW
- Laura Christie PSM, NSW Government Chief Information and Digital Officer (GCIDO)
- Tammy Williams, Commissioner, and Chief Executive of the Family Responsibilities Commission (FRC) QLD

The 2024 Wolfensohn scholarship winners have chosen courses including Leadership Decision Making, Leadership in Emerging Technology, and Senior Managers in Government.

With the support of the former chairman of the World Bank and Harvard alumni, the late Sir James Wolfensohn, HCA established the Wolfensohn Scholarship in 2012 to promote the development and delivery of good public policy. The scholarship is now funded solely through the fund raising efforts of the HCA. Each of the candidates was chosen based on their potential to contribute to the benefit of Australian society through the design and implementation of public policy.

The three recipients were chosen from a wide field of candidates, all nominated by a Commonwealth, State or Territory department or agency head. A shortlist of candidates was interviewed by a panel of Harvard alumni comprising the honourable Gabrielle Upton, Elizabeth Carr AM, Luke Woodward, Dr Ian Watt AC, and Mat Franklin.

HCA is especially grateful to the Secretaries and agency heads from the winners' home departments and agencies for personally nominating and supporting their candidates. This is the cohort of winners attending Harvard would not be possible without an engaged group of public service leaders.

By funding executive education at the world's leading school of public policy, the Wolfensohn Scholarship supports the design and delivery of good public policy in Australia. It also rewards outstanding individuals for their achievements in Government and motivates recipients in their successful public sector careers.

Further information:

Mat Franklin

Chair, Wolfensohn Scholarship mat.franklin@fujitsu.com

0400 868 766